Leadership

Staff  

Mary Ellen Morgan

Office Administrator

she/her/hers

admin@auumm.org

A Unitarian Universalist for over thirty five years, Mary Ellen has held congregational leadership roles as church Treasurer and Board Member, District Board President, and many staff positions as church accountant, Director of Administration, Director of Religious Education, and a one-year position as Choir Director. In her spare time she has also run her own accounting practice specializing in small businesses and not-for-profit accounting.  

Conference Planner

Bea Ann Phillips
Owner, BPlanning Meeting Management, LLC

she/her/hers

bphillips@bplanning.net

Bea Ann is an independent meeting professional with over 25 years of experience planning meetings, conferences and trade shows for groups of 50-1500. She is also the former Director of Children, Youth and SHINE (Healing) choirs at the Unitarian Universalist Church of Arlington, VA.

UUA Staff

Jan Gartner
Compensation and Staffing Practices Manager

she/her/hers

jgartner@uua.org

Jan joined the UUA staff in 2011. After 5 years in the Professional Development Office, where she oversaw the Music Leadership Certification and Religious Education Credentialing Programs, Jan moved to the Office of Church Staff Finances. In providing guidance on compensation, personnel matters, staff transitions, and healthy teams, she strives to equip congregations for excellence as employers and their staff for financial competence and well-being.

 

Rev. Sarah Gettie McNeill
Professional Development Programs Manager

she/her/hers

sgmcneill@uua.org

Rev. Sarah Gettie McNeill is the Professional Development Programs Manager in the Faith Development Office, with responsibility for the Music Leadership Certification, Religious Education Credentialing, and Renaissance programs. She is a UU minister and has served in religious education and chaplaincy.

 

Board of Trustees

Meet the team of volunteers dedicated to ensuring the future of the Association for Unitarian Universalist Music Ministries is sustainable and bright.

Click on a Trustee's photograph to connect with them.

DeReau Farrar

President, 1st term, Jan 2020 - Dec 2022

he/him/his

president@auumm.org 
First Unitarian Church of Portland, Director of Music
 

Deb Weiner

Moderator, 2nd term, Jan 2018 - Dec 2020

she/her/hers

moderator@auumm.org 
First Parish in Bedford UU,  Interim Director of Religious Education

 

Sarah Jebian

Secretary, 1st term, Jan 2019 - Dec 2021

she/her/hers

secretary@auumm.org 
UU Congregation of Rockville,  Director of Music
 

L. Harrison "LB" Brown

Treasurer, 2nd term, Jan 2020 - Dec 2022 (completing vacated term)

he/him/his

treasurer@auumm.org 
UU Church of Greater Lansing,  Director of Music
 

Amanda Thomas

Trustee at Large, 1st term, Jan 2019 - Dec 2021

she/her/hers

amanda.thomas1215@gmail.com 
Second Unitarian Church of Chicago, Director of Music



 

Rev. Christe Lunsford

Trustee at Large, 1st term,   Jan 2018 - Dec 2020

they/them/their

christe.lunsford@gmail.com 
UU Fellowship of Gainesville, Minister


 

Joel Chapman

Trustee at Large, 1st term,   Jan 2018 - Dec 2020

he/him/his

joel@joelchapmanmusic.com 
Unitarian Universalists of San Mateo, Music Director







 

 

Nominating Committee

Nominating Committee terms run for 3 years. The committee is charged with identifying and vetting candidates to be presented to the Association for Board of Trustees elections.

Mateo Frisk

Chair, 2020

he/him/his

music@wsuu.org
Columbine UU Church, Director of Music
 

Beverly Horton
Incoming Chair, 2021

he/him/his

bfhorton2@gmail.com
First Unitarian Church of Hamilton, Music Leader
 

Beth Norton

she/her/hers

elizabethnorton@gmail.com
First Parish in Concord, Director of Music
 

Contact Us

Administrative: 1800 Indiana Street, Vallejo, CA 94590
Executive: 17 Johnson Road, West Orange, NJ 07052
Phone: (856) 886-8742
admin@auumm.org

Connect

Mission:

Supporting music and worship arts professionals, leaders, and those they serve through advocacy, education, and inspiration.